Instructions

- 1. Cut up labels and hand out to students, or put them on their tables/chairs.
- 2. Designate areas with a sign:
 - a. Left of classroom = Parliament/Legislature
 - b. Back of classroom = Executive
 - c. Right of classroom = Judiciary
 - d. Front of classroom = More than one arm of government
- 3. Ask students to move into the area of the classroom that corresponds to their place in the separation of powers, based on their role.
- 4. Go through each section and check that everyone is with the right arm of government ask students to tell everyone who they are. If incorrect, identify where they should be and reallocate.
- 5. Point out any fun connections eg. Minister for Police (the big big boss! Responsible in Parliament), Police Commissioner (head of the Department), Police Officer (reports to the Police Commissioner)

EASY

DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] PARLIAMENT	DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] EXECUTIVE	DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] JUDICIARY	DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] MORE THAN ONE PARLIAMENT AND EXECUTIVE
Member of Parliament	Police Officer	Judge	Minister for Police
Senator	Public Servant	Judge	Minister for Education
Member of Parliament	Police Officer	Judge	Minister for Health
Senator	Public Servant	Judge	Minister for Tourism
Member of Parliament	Police Officer	Judge	Minister for Trade
Senator	Public Servant	Judge	Minister for Transport
Member of Parliament	Police Officer	Judge	Minister for the Environment
Senator	Public Servant	Judge	Minister for Human Services

MEDIUM

DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] PARLIAMENT	DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] EXECUTIVE	DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] JUDICIARY	DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] MORE THAN ONE PARLIAMENT AND EXECUTIVE
Member of the House of Assembly - Backbencher	Police Officer	Judge	Minister for Police
Senator - Backbencher	Public School Teacher	Justice of the High Court	Minister for Education
Member of the House of Representatives - Backbencher	Doctor in a Public Hospital	Magistrate	Minister for Health
Member of the Legislative Council - Backbencher	Government Spy	Judge	Prime Minister
Member of the House of Assembly - Backbencher	Police Officer	Justice of the High Court	Minister for Trade
Senator - Backbencher	Public School Teacher	Magistrate	Minister for Transport
Member of the House of Representatives - Backbencher	Doctor in a Public Hospital	Chief Judge	Minister for the Environment
Member of the Legislative Council - Backbencher	Government Spy	Chief Judge	Premier

HARD

DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] PARLIAMENT	DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] EXECUTIVE	DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] JUDICIARY	DO NOT DISTRIBUTE [Heading for the purposes of demonstrating answers] MORE THAN ONE PARLIAMENT AND
Hon. Dan Cregan MP	Police Officer	The Honourable Chief Justice Kiefel AC of the High Court of Australia	EXECUTIVE Treasurer Hon. Stephen Mullighan MP
Hon. Frank Pangallo MLC	SA Ambulance Paramedic	The Honourable Justice Gordon of the High Court of Australia	Attorney General Hon. Kyam Maher MLC
Senator Andrew McLachlan CSC	Air Force Pilot	The Honourable Justice Kelly of the Supreme Court of South Australia	Prime Minister Hon. Anthony Albanese MP
Rebekha Sharkie MP	Engineer in the Department for Planning, Transport and Infrastructure	His Honour Judge Slattery of the District Court of South Australia	Minister for Police Hon. Joe Szakacs MP
Senator Penny Wong	Teacher at Adelaide TAFE	Clerk in the Magistrates Court of South Australia	Premier Hon. Peter Malinauskas MP
Fraser Ellis MP	ASIO SPY	Magistrate John Wells	Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs Senator the Hon. Penny Wong
Hon. Russell Wortley MLC	Social worker in the Department for Child Protection	The Honourable Chief Justice Kourakis of the Supreme Court of South Australia	Federal Minister for Finance Senator the Hon. Katy Gallagher
South Australian Opposition Leader David Speirs MP	SA Police Commissioner Grant Stevens	Judge Cole of the Federal Circuit Court of Australia	Minister for Human Services Hon. Nat Cook MP